Monday, May 6, 2013

Book Review: Mystic City by Theo Lawrence


Release Date: 10/9/12
Author: Theo Lawrence
Series: Mystic City
Publisher: Delacorte Books
Provided by: My lovely local library
 
 
 
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths.
 
But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past.
 
The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
THEO LAWRENCE grew up on Long Island, where he lived with his parents, younger sister, and multiple dachshunds. He is a graduate of Columbia University and the Juilliard School. A Presidential Scholar in the Arts for Voice, he has performed at Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and Off-Broadway.

Mystic City was inspired by Theo’s fascination with epic love stories like Romeo & Juliet and Les Miserables, and a trip to Venice, Italy.
 
 
 
 
 
 
(Check out Steph's Stacks You Tube Channel for more book trailers!)
 
 
 
 
 Mystic City is a fun fast paced mystery that takes us into a beautiful and terrible version of our world. Aria comes from a life of privilege in a futuristic high society of New York City. She has possessions, comfort and power, but also is expected fulfill certain expectations. Thusly, she pays for her cushy lifestyle with her freedom.
 
The story begins with Aria losing a chunk of her memory due to an accident and the rest of the story is spent figuring out the mystery of that missing section of her memory and determining who her friends really are.
 
Love triangles, deceptions, battles and gained/lost love ensue (natch) and every plot twist keeps you peeking around the next page.
 
I loved viewing Mystic City through Aria's perspective and the details were teased out in a way that kept me guessing. Some mysteries are solved easily, but many remain until the end. The characters, pacing and world-building were all exceptional. Lawrence definitely has a winner of a series on her hands.
 

 
 
 
 

No comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...